Con Season – It’s Time for the Rainbow in Tampa

Have I mentioned how much flying to the East coast from California sucks? Never mind. It’s my own fault, I know this. I want to  be on the first plane out of town, regardless of the destination. So that 6 am flight out of Oakland? Yeah. 3:30 am comes fast on the heels of bed at 2 am. But I’m here now. Tampa – home of the unbroken horizon that kept me twitching the first time I visited. Before that initial trip I’d never experienced any place so flat. I’ve always lived someplace with a mountain range (or at least impressive hills) at my back. And it matters.

This time I’m prepared. Well. Maybe.

Tomorrow our Gay Romance community of writers and readers begin four days of conferencing and communing. We started early.

555391_107240992796817_1330287806_nMy favorite part of con season is the face-to-face missing from all the checking in and chatting done via social media. I prefer coming in a day or so early and lingering in the bar or lobby with an eye for the familiar face, or at the very least the traveller casting a searching glance of their own. New friends to meet.

Last night while I lingered over my martini (sounds better than the large glass of straight gin and three olives served to me in a drinking glass), waiting for Sue Brown to arrive from London, I ran into Kindle Alexander. We spent the time catching up on life since we’d shared the same air in Atlanta at GRL2013. By the time Sue appeared we’d collected Sandrine Gasq Dion, and Ann Linder and headed out to a local steakhouse for dinner.

The Aside: (As a vegetarian, there is no better eating than at a steakhouse as long as the sight of blood isn’t an appetite killer for you.

Tip: For the squeamish Veg – Avoid Morton’s Steakhouses where the menu comes bleeding off the hoof to your table and reminds one of that scene with the cow from Restaurant at the End of the Universe. Doug Adams…. we miss you.)

I can’t wait to see who I’ll bump into next.

Ann Linder, Sandrine Gasq Dion, Kindle Alexander, LE Franks, Sue Brown

Ann Linder, Sandrine Gasq Dion, Kindle Alexander, LE Franks, Sue Brown

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

