Fortune Cookie #8: “The fingers lying on top of mine suddenly curled inward, sliding against the tender skin in between; it wasn’t until Henry was holding my hand that I noticed the shaking and I couldn’t tell which one of us was to blame.”

Can You Identify These Quotes?

LASTFIRSTKISS_FBThumb

LE FRANKS’ GRL FORTUNE COOKIE GAME

In celebration of my attendance at this year’s Gay Romance Literary Retreat outside of Chicago, IL -I’ve brought swag for everyone in the form of fortune cookies. Inside each cookie is a quote from one of my books. The trick is to identify which book of mine the quote belongs to. Once you have the answer you can come by my swag table, see me at the supporting author signing, or the Thursday edition of the author lounge and fill out your raffle ticket for a chance at walking away with an amazon gift card and some cool swag. 

If you’d like to play along at home comment below and tell me what your favorite fortune cookie moment is. I’ll randomly select one person from all the entries left here. 8 Quotes, 8 chances to win from the comfort of your bunny slippers.

THE ANSWERS

 
 

76d7876c14e711e3800122000aeb0c37_7

 Quote No. 8 – Last First Kiss

Working the tie again, I tried to block out the sounds around me before they filled my mouth, my nose, my ears, even my eyes, sealing the words off inside me, burying me alive like a human sacrifice to my grief.

Henry peeled my fingers from around the mangled polyester, moving my hand away from my body and pressing it flat against his leg. It was warm and hard.

I could feel the muscles shift under the pressure, and it reminded me of the horse we’d rented together when we were fifteen, all three of us sitting bareback atop the dun-colored gelding. Since I was the smallest, Henry had slung me over the poor beast’s neck first, and I sat perched on its bony shoulders while the two of them scrambled to find their places.

Henry, as usual, finally sat back on the rump, his long arms wrapping around the two of us, keeping us together—holding us in place was always Henry’s job.

No wonder he was falling apart.

Humpty-Dumpty had left the building, and there’d be no picking up the pieces this time—Danny had made sure of that.

Fucking bastard.

The fingers lying on top of mine suddenly curled inward, sliding against the tender skin in between. It wasn’t until Henry was holding my hand that I noticed the shaking, and I couldn’t tell which one of us was to blame.

GrandAdventures_postcard_front_DSP

Grand Adventures a Dreamspinner Press anthology

Description:

On September 1, 2011, TJ Klune wrote, “…it’s not about the ending, it’s about the journey…” in a review of Eric Arvin’s Woke Up in a Strange Place.

With those words, two men began a journey of love and invited us to ride along. TJ and Eric have shared so much with us: their wonderful books, their smiles, their humor, their lives, and their inspiring devotion to each other. In December of 2013, their journey took a detour when Eric was taken to the emergency room. He survived the surgery to remove a cavernous hemangioma from his brain stem, but the challenges TJ and Eric face are far from over.

The authors in this anthology donated their talent as a way to support Eric’s continued recovery, to help bring strength to TJ, and to show both of them just how much love surrounds them. Grand Adventures is a diverse range of stories about the journey of love. We’re going on some grand adventures for a great cause. Thank you for joining us.

One hundred percent of the income from this volume goes directly to TJ and Eric.

This entry was posted in Blog, Books, Contest, excerpt, Men, Photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

