Working, Writing, Not Wondering

Linda It’s raining here… has been for weeks it seems. Not that we’re complaining – oh no. Our water supply comes from a series of reservoirs around Mt Tam and we can’t wait to lose the taste of dust when we brush our teeth.

So rain is welcome.

The change in weather also appears to have had rejuvenative effect on me [Fuck off spell check]. I’m still ensconced in my house for both my “real life” job as well as everything else I’m working on – that hasn’t changed – but now it doesn’t feel as oppressive and confining. With the cold and rain and the soft white fog that accompanies both, I’m more content to just be.

 

Umbrella vintage color lonely in the rain.

With the rain came the words… soaking into the cracked earth of inspiration, refilling the font of imagination, slaking the parch afflicting my muse – (cranky bitch that she is).

 

I have stepped away from the angsty wallowing of ‘who am I’ and ‘is there value in my work’ and ‘what can I possible achieve with the time I have left’.  (I’m leaving off the ‘?’ purposefully.)

I no longer consider these to be valid questions so I’m stepping away, stepping over them like they’re simply unruly two year olds throwing a tantrum…(which they kind of are as I look over my shoulder at my publishing calendar and note the date). I’ve stopped caring about it, stopped wondering, stopped judging myself. And with indifference came liberation.

A change of weather and changing year accompanied my changing heart – and with the rain, came the words… soaking into the cracked earth of  inspiration, refilling the font of imagination, slaking the parch of my muse – cranky bitch that she is.

I am once more filled with character voices, with scenes – dialogue dogs my heels, and I’m yearning to write so I do. And through it all I’m having fun.

Crazy. Stupid. Fun.

Squirrelly fun.

So here’s to us all. I Hope you have one hell of a great 2016. Come back, join in the fun and I’ll keep sharing as I go.

Happy New Everything.

-LE

LEF_options_rainbow_Trans copy

LE Franks lives in the SF Bay area and writes M/M Romance in a unique mix of humor and drama with enough suspense to produce fast paced stories filled with emotion and passion and featuring characters that are quirky and complicated and sometimes a little bit dark. LE Franks is a best selling author Published through MLR Press, Dreamspinner Press and Wilde City Press and is a a 2014 Rainbow Awards Finalist for Can This Be Real, and a 2013 Rainbow Awards Finalist for Prodigal Wolf co-written with Sara York, available at MLR Press, Amazon and online bookstores.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

